BJP drops sitting Mumbai MP Kirit Somaiya as candidate, names rebel Cong MLC to take on Sonia

In a freshly released list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) dropped its sitting MP from Mumbai North East, Kirit Somaiya as candidate and fielded rebel Congress MLC Dinesh Pratap Singh to take on Sonia Gandhi from Rae Bareli. The saffron party released the names of six candidates for seats in Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra.

In the latest BJP list, well-known Bhojpuri actor and singer Dinesh Lal Yadav has been pitted against Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav from Azamgarh, while Prem Singh Shakya will contest from Mainpuri against Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Congress leader Gandhi is the sitting Lok Sabha member from Rae Bareli which has for decades been believed to be a Congress bastion. She was first elected from the seat in 1999.