Bypolls Defeat Because Keshav Prasad Maurya Not Made Chief Minister: UP Minister

Uttar Pradesh minister Om Prakash Rajbhar said on Monday that the Bharatiya Janata Party lost the recent bypolls as the other backward castes(OBCs) were not happy with the party. He said the reason for the disenchantment was that the BJP didn’t make Keshav Prasad Maurya the chief minister of the state. He said the BJP contested the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections last year with Keshav Prasad Maurya as its face, but later Yogi Adityanath was made the chief minister of the state. He said ,”Backwards supported the BJP in the hope that Maurya will become CM. The result of this anger reflected in the defeat of the BJP in bypolls”. Asked whether Yogi Adityanath is responsible for the defeat in bypolls, he said, “Government is responsible. The BJP should introspect about reasons for its defeat. It’s up to the BJP whom to make CM. It’s up to the party to make Yogi or Keshav as CM.” The BJP recently lost the Kairana parliamentary by-election and the Noorpur assembly bypoll in Uttar Pradesh. Tabassum Hasan of the Rashtriya Lok Dal won the Kairana seat by a margin of 44,618 votes, while Naeemul Hasan of the Samajwadi Party bagged the Noorpur Assembly seat by 5,662 votes. The winning RLD candidate in Kairana was backed by the Congress, the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party. In Noorpur, the main opposition parties supported the SP candidate.


Read More…