How Sunrisers Hyderabad made the final

With first-choice captain David Warner not playing this season after a one-year ban from Cricket Australia for his role in the recent ball-tampering scandal, Sunrisers Hyderabad named Kane Williamson captain for IPL 2018. There was widespread concern over how SRH would fare without Warner, but Williamson’s captaincy and batting (he leads the run charts with 688) ensured that the Australian was not really missed. Despite losing their last three matches of the league stage, SRH went into the play-offs as No. 1 on the points table.
ALSO READ: All-round Rashid stars as Sunrisers Hyderabad enter final
SRH’s bowling spoke for itself even before a ball was bowled, and true to reputation, the entire unit proved the bowling attack of the tournament. Rashid Khan and Siddarth Kaul each have 21 wickets heading into Sunday’s final against Chennai Super Kings, and there have been fine supporting roles from Shakib Al Hasan and Sandeep Sharma.
ALSO READ: Chennai Super Kings’ road to a seventh IPL final
Here’s how SRH made it this far.
1st match v RR in Hyderabad – Won by 9 wickets
How good their bowling was going to be this season was put on display in Sunrisers’ opening game, in which all five bowlers combined to keep Rajasthan Royals to 125/9. Shakib (2/23), Kaul (2/17) and Rashid (1/23) were exemplary in choking the RR batsmen. Shikhar Dhawan (78* off 57 balls) and Williamson (36* off 35) completed a facile chase in 15.5 overs.

Read More..