IPL 2019 Final, MI vs CSK: Relive previous Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings championship clashes

The final of the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will witness two of the most illustrious teams going head to head for the title at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday.

Both Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have won the title three times each and will go for an unprecedented fourth at the home of the 2016 champions Sunrisers Hyderabad.

MI and CSK have met three times in IPL finals before with Chennai winning in 2010 and Mumbai coming out victorious in 2013 and 2015. Let’s take a look at the three finals more closely –

2010: Suresh Raina fires CSK to maiden title

Batting first, Chennai posted a fighting total of 168/5 in 20 overs. Suresh Raina was the top-scorer for CSK as he struck a 35-ball 57, including three fours and sixes each. Sri Lanka pacer Dilhara Fernando was the pick of the bowlers for Mumbai as he ended with outstanding figures of 2/23 in four overs.

Chasing the target, MI got off to the worst start possible as Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed for a duck. Sachin Tendulkar (48) held the innings from one end but wickets kept falling on the other as MI innings folded at 146/9 and they lost the match by 22 runs.

Shadab Jakati scalped two wickets for CSK while Doug Bollinger, Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan and Suresh Raina scalped one wicket each to fire them to their first IPL glory.

2013: Kieron Pollard ends MI’s title drought

Mumbai Indians had to wait three years for their revenge but it was worth the wait in the 2013 edition of the IPL. Batting first, MI top-order crumbled and they were struggling at 16/3 at one point. Dinesh Karthik (21) and Ambati Rayudu (37) steadied the Mumbai ship but Kieron Pollard’s onslaught helped them to a fighting total. Pollard slammed 60 off 32 deliveries to fire MI to 148/9 in 20 overs. Dwayne Bravo was chief architect of MI’s low score as he scalped four wickets for 42.

CSK’s chase was marred by early wickets as they lost the wickets of Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina and Subramaniam Badrinath for just three runs on board. MS Dhoni played a gem of an innings but his 45-ball 63* went in vain as MI won the match by 23 runs. Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Johnson and Harbhajan Singh scalped two wickets each to star in Mumbai’s emphatic title victory.

2015: Rohit Sharma leads Mumbai to second title

Mumbai Indians won their second title by defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final for the second time in three years. Batting first, Mumbai posted a commanding total of 202/5 in 20 overs, courtesy of half-centuries from Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma.

While Simmons gave the team a perfect start with 68 off 45 deliveries, Rohit’s onslaught (50 off 26) powered them over the magical 200-run mark. Kieron Pollard (36) and Ambati Rayudu (36) provided handy contributions in the death overs as well.

Chasing the mammoth target, Chennai kept losing wickets at regular intervals and no one apart from Dwayne Smith (57) resisted the in-form MI bowlers. The second highest score of the innings was by Suresh Raina who score 28 as CSK eventually folded out for 161/8 in 20 overs.

Mitchell McClenaghan was the pick of the MI bowlers as he ended the match with scintillating figures of 3/25 while Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan Singh scalped two wickets each as Mumbai won their second IPL title in stunning style.

[Read More…]